Back to regularly scheduled programming

Aaaand we’re back! After a week in Georgia with family, I came back to a snowstorm and a brand new job. The snow mostly affected Western and Central Massachusetts, so we were merely inconvenienced while walking to get our pizza, but some people have been without power this whole week, my boyfriend’s family included. It might have been a more productive week had we lost power, though, but instead I vegged out each night, watching scary movies and going to bed early. That all ends this weekend, when I plan to start Infinite Jest. I’m working on a review for The Last Werewolf, but until then I’m soaking up all kinds of technical books at my new job.

I can say that XML in a Nutshell by Elliotte Rusty Harold and W. Scott Means is understandable for a complete n00b like myself, and I felt prepared when I was being trained on how we use the XML program that we do. I’m currently working my way through Adobe InDesign CS2: One-on-One by Deke McClelland, but it’s helping me learn the program by actually using it, which is always the best way for me.

Anyway, I don’t want to completely bore you with all of the technical reading I’ve been doing. Is anyone participating in NaNoWriMo? One of the TNGG: Boston writers is covering it, and I’m excited to hear some of the interviews he gets.

Leave a Reply

