Don’t judge a cover by its book.

This morning I started reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett. It’s about to be released (is released?) as a movie, and it’s on my list to see. My roommate Meg came home with the book about a week ago and has been raving ever since. We have a little bit of different taste in books – which I realized during the Book Thief recommendation of 2010 – but this one seems to be down both our alleys. Stockett’s opening narrator, Aibilene, is lovable, funny, and complex. I look forward to meeting the other narrators and finishing this book as quickly as Meg did.

What are you reading these days?

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Don’t judge a cover by its book.

  1. I loved The Help and can’t wait for the movie to come out! Big fan of Emma Stone and the casting is perfect (how often can we say that after reading a book about to be turned into a movie?). Right now I’m reading The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai, one of my favorite short story authors. She was in town for a panel and I picked it up after hearing her talk. So far it’s addicting, but after this I have to get back to more short story collections 🙂

  2. Jillian says:

    I just finished this and it was fantastic. I really loved all of the narrators, and loved hating Miss Hilly as much as they did 🙂

Leave a Reply

