Stand up for your books.

While I have never been Jewish or sat shiva, I found other themes and situations relatable in Jonathan Tropper’s This Is Where I Leave YouThe same goes for young adults. Who are we to say what a young teenager can handle? There are no censors on life; there is no age discrimination for when a person might experience death, poverty, or sexual assault, and so a censor on literature labeled “young adult” is just as arbitrary. Which is why when I read Tahleen’s defense of YA literature and its themes, I thought it was a great example of the necessity of the scope of literature and its themes.  Whether a young adult has experienced firsthand any of the dark themes outlined by Meghan Cox Gurdon or not, its presence in their reading material can serve as the beginning of a very necessary dialogue.

I’d love to hear what you think, as I’m sure would Tahleen.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Stand up for your books.

  1. Joe says:

    One of the things that I can never thank my parents for enough is their belief that censorship is just plain wrong, and usually idiotic. I read a lot of dark books when I was a teenager and a young adult. My parents were just glad I was a reader. They felt readers were better thinkers, and better thinkers made better adults. I may not agree with them on everything, but I certainly agree with them on that.

    I really think children, especially teenagers, are way more resilient than we give them credit for.

Leave a Reply

