Where We Live: Book Recommendations

I love book recommendations, and I have a select group of people (and sites) where I get this information. Today, I gchatted with one such friend (we’ll call her Crunch), and she gushed about the biography she’s currently reading about Edna St. Vincent Millay: Savage Beauty by Nancy Milford. Some of my friend’s gushings:

I started reading the biography of Edna St. Vincent Millay yesterday and Nancy Milford, her biographer (who also wrote Zelda, which is one of my favorite books of all time) has this amazing introduction about what it means to be a biographer and how strange it is to take on someone else’s life. She works with Norma, Edna’s sister, and Norma sounds like an outrageous personality herself it’s just like … strength and womanhood and sex and literature (and eventually depression, I haven’t reached that part yet). It sounds like she had an affair with Georgia O’keefe.

From Notable Biographies: “Edna St. Vincent Millay was an American lyric (expressing direct and personal feeling) poet whose personal life and verse reflected the attitudes of rebellious youth during the 1920s.”

I love book recommendations that represent the recommender well, highlighting aspects of her personality that I am acquainted with and enamored of. The youth and vitality that seems to be celebrated by this particular poet and biography subject remind me of Crunch and several of our other friends.

What aspects of books you recommend are insights into your personality?

(Photo via)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

