Deadlines.

Another weekend, over. Okay, so the weekend was over well before today, but still. Today it’s really real.

I’m so close to finishing Joyce Carol Oates’s memoir, it’s sickening. The chapters are getting shorter and shorter, and she’s starting to use closure language. I feel silly saying this, but I’ve actually been preparing myself for the end of this book. I’ve become so invested, and it’s been such an emotional ride that I fear I may need a week or two to recover afterward. And as much as I want to read Joan Didion’s memoir, but the wiser part of me tells me I should space them out about a year. What books have you read that have left such an impact you needed a recovery period afterward? Suggestions of good transition reads for after?

Well, today’s my final day to contemplate what books I’ll be discussing at the Porter Square Book Bloggers Event on June 3 at 7pm. I think I have it narrowed down to three… but, you’ll just have to come to the event to find out what they are! I’ll update you with pictures and a list of the other bloggers’ picks after the event. But until then, soak in that suspense, baby!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Deadlines.

  1. Jason says:

    It’s been bugging me where I know Joyce Carol Oats from, and it just hit me that she wrote an introduction to a collection of H.P. Lovecraft stories I have.

    Cthulhu fhtagn!

Leave a Reply

