The Things They Present!

I still consider myself and this blog babies in the blog world. And so, when opportunities to broaden my experience and outreach in the book world present themselves, I get real excited and nervous. Recently, I was contacted by Josh at Porter Square Books about a book blogger event he’s organizing. Book bloggers from around Boston will present their summer reads at Porter Square Books on Friday, June 3, at 7 pm. I will be among the presenters!

I’m stoked to meet other bloggers and to be able to reach out to new readers, not to mention add to my list the recommendations of other avid readers.

But since I’ve never done anything like this before, and I tend to be on the shy side about public speaking, I’m freaking out about what to say. I’d love suggestions for summer reads. If you’ll be in the area, you should definitely come out and say hi! I’ll have stickers to hand out and hopefully some other swag I can round up.

Here’s to new things…

(Photo of Porter Square Books from their website)

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “The Things They Present!

  1. Just wanted to say congratulations on the upcoming event! You may be nervous about the public speaking, but imagine how proud you’ll be when you’ve done it! Heck, pick a character from one of your favorite books and embrace *their* thinking to give you a boost! 🙂

  2. Meg Sefton says:

    Good luck, Melanie! How exciting!

  3. Congrats and good luck!

  4. Thanks for the encouragement, everyone! I’ll update you guys on my picks for the event and hopefully get some video of it day of to post here. Eee!

    – Mel

Leave a Reply

