Resolutions: Resolving!

Remember way back when, when Shane and I resolved to support more literary magazines?

The literary magazine, once known for its ability to stimulate and titillate the minds of intellectuals across a vast spectrum of existences, is making its triumphant return into the hearts and conversations of millions and millions and millions and millions of beautiful people just like you.

Well, I’m happy to say I now have a subscription to One Story, The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Redivider, and come March 15th, Ploughshares. Though I have absolutely no idea when I plan to read all of this, I know that I hope it will be underneath my covers with a flashlight.

What lit mags have you subscribed to or read at the library?

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Resolutions: Resolving!

  1. I subscribe to Rain Taxi (not a lit magazine, but a non-profit mag that reviews literary novels. I figure that counts.) I also subscribe to Harper’s. But you’ve inspired me. I think from now on, I’ll subscribe to one literary magazine every month or so. I’ll buy some sample issues next month to see which ones I like (though I do know I’ll be subscribing to The Believer. Again, not really a literary mag, but in the same family).

    • Hi Joe!

      Ooooh, Believer’s great! It’s in the same family, for sure, and definitely just as important to support. Shane and I were talking about doing this special they had going with McSweeney’s, but that never panned out. Maybe check out to see if that’s still happening?

      I’d love to set up some sort of lit mag swap, where people subscribe to different magazines then swap them out for others, since subscribing to multiples gets expensive quick.

      Keep us posted!

      Mel

      • I just realized: You guys might not be aware of Perpetual Folly’s pushcart prize ranking. It’s a great place to find Magazines worth reading.

        http://perpetualfolly.blogspot.com/2010/11/2011-pushcart-prize-rankings.html

        For me, the mags at the top tend to be the most traditional. The middle balance tradition with experimentation. The bottom of the list are either newer or are more experimental. That’s been my experience, anyhow. The titles link to the websites of the journals. If the journal is followed by a copyright sign, it means the journal is closed. 🙂

  2. Joe says:

    Well, you wanted an update, so here goes:

    We’ll be moving out of our house. We’re not sure when, but it’ll be within the next 3 months. That means, it makes no sense to subscribe to any mags because I’ll just have to change my address. I have enough address notifications to make now, lol.

    I’ve decided to buy single issues of various mags until then to find ones I like. That way, when I move, I can just subscribe to the great ones.

    I just got a copy of Story Quarterly #44 in the mail. (I asked how to buy a single copy, and they kindly sent me a free one). I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but I’ve flipped through and some of the writing drew me right in. I think I’m going to like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

