Where We Live, The Rumpus-Style


By Melanie Yarbrough

I recently started yet another WordPress blog, except this time for my own personal viewing. It’s public and searchable, but I don’t write it with any specific audience in mind, and I have no desire to draw an audience. It’s simply a chronicle of my day-to-day writing struggles, for my own future probably dementia-riddled self.

One of the most common bits of advice I hear flung about between writers is to keep a journal. Write everything down! Never stop writing! Use those writing muscles! That’s what I’m doing, and that’s sort of what we’re doing with the Where We Live series at TTTR. How, when, and where do writers exercise those writing muscles? I always love the “Why We Write” section in Poets & Writers, and I think there’s something to that. We’re not all necessarily looking for the key (or even the location of the fucking lock) to becoming a successful writer, we’re just looking to see our community a little clearer, to ease the sense of aloneness by seeing others alone. Perhaps that’s selfish. Perhaps that only makes it more writerly.

Today’s Daily Rumpus email, to which I tack a strong recommendation to subscribe, included a link to the third installment of The Rumpus’s Where I Write series. And since we’ve been a little quiet on the Wednesday front, I thought I’d share these three insightful and after-our-own-heart pieces with you.

But before you read them, take solace in this, as I did:

I write wherever I can. Every time I read an article or attend a writing workshop that stresses the importance of writing ritual: the room, the time of day, the equipment, the temperature, the tools, I want to give up. If that’s what it takes, I’m doomed. My ritual is that I don’t have one.

Now go, be inspired.


Where do you write?

The Where We Live series is chance to travel to all the different places that writers and readers live, in a deeper sense than simply geography, but the mental and emotional space they inhabit during their creative lives. Interested in contributing your own Where We Live? Check out previous entries and send us what you got.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

