The Things They’re Reading

By Melanie Yarbrough

One of my goals for 2011 (see: The Anti-List List) is to read 2 – 3 books a month and review one of them a month. Last month I read Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections and Paul Auster’s Sunset Park. I’ve written a meandering review of Paul Auster’s novel, which is currently in the process of editing, so keep an eye out!

This month I plan to actually finish Carol Sklenicka’s Raymond Carver: A Writer’s Life. Upon completion, I plan to dive into Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom, heralded as one of 2010’s best books (if not best book) by pretty much everyone in the world. (Okay, maybe not everyone.)

These books and this month are the beginning of The Things They’re Reading. Check the sidebar to see what Shane and I are currently reading along with a hashtag to follow live tweets of what we’re reading. Reply with the hashtag to get in on the conversation or let us know what you’re currently reading. This is an experiment that may fail and may offend people who don’t believe Twitter is productive or that reading is a solitary action. To those people: Try not to look at the middle of our sidebar.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Things They’re Reading

  1. Joe says:

    One of my resolutions is to read 100 books this year. That’s about 2 a week. I’m also keeping a reading diary to go along with it. So far I’m on target. I’m currently reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott (mainly because it’s short and I need to get a little bit ahead because I want Infinite Jest to be one of the books I read this year). I’ll probably end up doing some reviews. Books finished so far this year: Super Sad True Love Story, Motherless Brooklyn, Maps and Legends. Once I finish Bird by Bird, the next book is The Helmet of Horror by Victor Pelevin.

  2. Joe, those are great books on your list! Are you on Goodreads? That’s where I keep track of the books I want to read, though I still need to go in and put them in some semblance of order.

    Shane read Super Sad True Love Story and spoke very highly of it. I read Bird by Bird for a writing class once, and I remember loving it. It’s probably time for a brush up. Excited to hear about your reading adventures in 2011!

    – Mel

  3. Joe says:

    I am indeed on Goodreads.

    http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2785014

    I haven’t updated it much, though I started updating it again last night. I’m going to try and keep it updated. It’s just a pain at times because I read a lot of digital books, so I have to do a few conversions to make sure that I update with the correct page number.

Leave a Reply

