What’s Good, E-Books?

Over at the Two Dollar Radio blog, EIC Eric Obenauf has noted an e-book positive:

Something I do like about e-books is that people in other countries have easier access to read our books. People can order our books electronically through vendors by entering a random U.S. address. Even if we assign sales restrictions to only U.S. and Canada, for e-books that doesn’t mean squat because the vendors can’t enforce these restrictions. But I enjoy getting emails from someone in Turkey saying that they’re reading our books.

I thought this would be a good opportunity for all of us to get a little dirty and say one good thing about e-books, e-readers, e-mags, etc. I’ll continue the trend.

I like that people can read the newspaper on their e-reader. On a crowded subway, this leaves a little more elbow room for everyone.

-S

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “What’s Good, E-Books?

  1. Kristin says:

    I didn’t realize that ebooks could override that sort of restriction, and it makes me so thrilled that they can! A wonderful small step in fighting censorship, and in the continuing effort for worldwide literacy.

    I love reading the paper on my blackberry for the same reason. The only time I’ve been tempted to buy an e-reader is when trying to haul What God Hath Wrought on the train to and from work. When I can’t read at home, I find myself unwittingly disregarding certain reading choices based on the weight and portability of the book.

  2. To Eric’s point, 14% of subscribers to new digital-only Shelf Unbound indie book review magazine are international. I love the reach of digital! — Margaret Brown, publisher, Shelf Unbound

  3. Mel says:

    I just like that books are getting so much press time these days, and not just among us taped-glasses types either! Apple product lovers, Amazon fiends, and travel nuts are all considering the pros and cons of e-readers. If life was Twitter (God forbid), e-readers would be making books a trending topic.

  4. Jess says:

    I have an e-reader and I love it. I like the fact that some textbooks are now in e-pub format so that you don’t have quite so many books to take to class. Also, I like the fact that you can bring all your reading novels with you anywhere without having to cary a big stack of books. It’s a wonderful invention.

Leave a Reply

