NaNoWriMo: Be a word glutton this Thanksgiving

By Melanie Yarbrough


It’s official: I’ve signed up for National Novel Writing Month. Sounds cool and important, right? Well, it is. Important in the sense that it’s been inspiring writers on several continents to crank out 50,000 words since 1999.

From the official website:

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

There are no pretensions or illusions that you’ll welcome December with a publishable novel under your belt, only the promise that undergoing this intense, boot camp of a writing process will leave you with creation. A whole heaping hulk of it. The creators and sponsors of NaNoWriMo are supporting the challenge, leaving the rest up to you.

So what do I hope to accomplish during November?

  1. Challenge my disinterest in writing a novel.
  2. Create complex, tangible and breathing characters.
  3. Write every single day.
  4. Update The things they read with my progress. (My screenname is Thethingstheywrote.)
  5. Meet other writers that live and write nearby.
  6. Create something very different from what I’ve become comfortable writing.

I’m excited. Nervous. Afraid I’ll lose momentum. But best of all, I’m ready to try something new in my writing.

Join Me!

Here are a few ways you can get involved:

Let us know if you’ve signed up for the challenge and want to contribute blog posts on your experience as well. Send us an email or drop us a comment!

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Be a word glutton this Thanksgiving

  1. Catana says:

    Hey, saw your post and added you as a buddy. You may have a hard slog writing a novel against whatever resistance you have about it, but I’d be the first to encourage you. I don’t know how much fiction you’ve actually written, but your second goal may be the hardest one to achieve. It’s a wonderful challenge, though, and if you have problems with it, the NaNo forums offer loads of support. I love your sixth goal because I’ve found myself getting into areas that are sometimes very difficult and uncomfortable. Getting over that has been a big part of my writing journey. Hope to see you (and me) cross the finish line in November.

  2. Glad you can join us for NaNo, and on the Blogchain! I look forward to seeing how your goals are coming as the month progresses 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I just signed up last night, and I already feel the support and excitement I’ve heard about. I’m going to start the outline within the next couple weeks, so keep an eye out for a post on that!

      – Mel

Leave a Reply

